Home » Academics » Academic Support Services » Academic Advising » Academic Advising Staff

Academic Advising Staff

Campus Location Phone
Haverhill Behrakis One Stop Student Center, 2nd Floor, CPAC 978-556-3440
Lawrence Dr. Ibrahim El Hefni Allied Health and Technology Center, 1st Floor, LC 129  
Academic Advising Staff
Name Location Phone Email
Grace Young, Dean, Academic Support Services, Articulation, and Transfer  SC212A and LC 131 978-556-3449 gyoung@necc.mass.edu
Linda Bradish, EDP Entry Operator IV, Haverhill Outside SC212A 978-556-3445 lbradish@necc.mass.edu
Solanyi Muñoz, Special Program Coordinator for Dislocated Workers LC129 978-655-5924 smunoz@necc.mass.edu
Nelfa Pimentel, Part Time Clerk III LC129 978-655-5909 npimentel@necc.mass.edu
Candy Rentas, Administrative Assistant II, Haverhill Outside SC212A 978-556-3443 crentas@necc.mass.edu
       

Jayne Ducharme, Coordinator of Academic Advising, Lawrence,

Jayne hails from the great state of Massachusetts.  She graduated with a BA in English and Communications from Assumption College and earned her M.Ed. in Higher Education Administration from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst.  Jayne worked in secondary education and student affairs for many years prior to starting as an Academic Advisor at NECC in 2006. Jayne currently serves as Coordinator of Academic Advising on the Lawrence Campus. In the Coordinator’s role, Jayne serves as a resource for the Lawrence Career Planning and Advising Center Team.  Her favorite day is St. Patrick’s Day because she loves being Irish.

LC 129 978-655-5914 jducharme@necc.mass.edu

Stephanie Wares, Coordinator of Academic Advising, Haverhill

Stephanie is originally from Lockport, New York.  She has a BA in Psychology with a minor in Women’s Studies from SUNY Fredonia and a MS in Mental Health Counseling from Canisius College.   Stephanie has many years’ experience in Residence Life, Admissions and Counseling along with a passion for women’s psychology.  She joined NECC in 2011 and currently serves as Coordinator of Academic Advising and Community Referral for the Haverhill campus.  In the Coordinator’s role, Stephanie serves as a resource for the Haverhill Career Planning and Advising Center Team.  Stephanie made her theatrical debut in the NECC Top Notch adaptation of the Vagina Monologues.

CPAC-18 978-556-3446 swares@necc.mass.edu

Martha Bixby, Academic Advisor, Haverhill

Martha grew up in Groveland, Massachusetts and earned her Associates Degree in Computer Operations and Accounting from Northern Essex Community College.  Upon transferring from NECC, Martha earned a BS in Business Studies, a MBA and a Graduate Certificate in Human Resource Management from Southern New Hampshire University. She began working at NECC in 2008 and became an Academic Advisor in 2011.  She currently assists with the advising of students in the Adult Literacy & Transition Programs.   Martha enjoys volunteering at her church and loves Lifetime movies.  

CPAC-11 978-556-3450 mbixby@necc.mass.edu

Vanessa Desani, Academic Advisor

Vanessa is originally from Sao Paulo, Brazil. She received her BA in Portuguese and English Language & Literature from Sao Paulo University and her M. Ed. in Teaching English as a Second Language (TESOL) from Cambridge College.  She also earned a Portuguese & English Community and Legal Interpreter certificate from Boston University. She has been in the U.S. for almost nine years and has worked very close to the Latino community in Allston and Framingham, where she taught English as a Second Language (ESL) for social justice and diversity groups’ empowerment. Vanessa started her career at NECC in 2015 and she currently serves as an Academic Advisor and Community Referral on the Lawrence Campus. Vanessa loves summer and she keeps wearing her Brazilian flip-flops over the winter. 

LC 129 978 655-5921 vdesani@necc.mass.edu

Jeffrey Flaherty, Academic Advisor, Lawrence

Jeff is originally from Rochester, New York.  He earned a BA in Communications Management and a M.Ed. in College Student Personnel Services from the University of Dayton.  Jeff joined NECC in 2014. Prior to that he worked as an Academic Advisor at the University of Connecticut and Dean College. Jeff also has many years’ experience working in Residence Life.  He was the mascot and mascot coach at the University of Dayton, and is always willing to talk about his alma mater. Last but not least, Jeff participated in Up With People where he traveled performing live musical shows, staying with host families, and doing community service work in cities and towns all over the world.

LC 129 978-655-5918 jflaherty@necc.mass.edu

Ana Fraden, Academic Advisor, Haverhill

Ana was born in the Dominican Republic and raised in Connecticut. She went to the University of Connecticut at Waterbury and double majored in Psychology and Human Development & Family Studies. She moved to the Boston area for graduate school at Northeastern University. She graduated with a MS in College Student Development and Counseling in 2012. She began working at NECC in 2012 and serves as the ESL contact in the Haverhill Career Planning and Advising Center. Ana is an avid concert-goer with an elite membership in the BEYhive and countless trips to enjoy the salsa rhythms of her favorite “flaco” Marc Anthony.

CPAC-10 978-556-3636 afraden@necc.mass.edu

Amanda Fregeau, Academic Advisor, Haverhill

Amanda grew up in Athol, MA. She earned a Bachelor’s Degree from Westfield State University in Psychology and Master’s Degree from Fitchburg State University in Counseling. Amanda began working at NECC in 2015 and joined the Academic Advising Team in 2016. She also has a background in Residential Life, New Student Orientation and Secondary Education. She is an avid sports fan and dog lover.

CPAC-9 978-556-3436 afregeau@necc.mass.edu

Jayme Haddad, Transfer & Academic Advisor, Lawrence

Jayme is from Groveland, Massachusetts. She received her BA in Legal Studies from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst and her M.Ed. in Higher Education Administration from Northeastern University. Jayme has worked full time at NECC since 2011 after working as a seasonal employee of the college throughout her undergraduate years.  She is the Transfer & Academic Advisor for the Lawrence Campus.  Jayme is a dog lover and has two dogs a chocolate lab named Bubba and a cavapoochon named Maisie.

LC 129 978-655-5916 jhaddad@necc.mass.edu

Maria Hernandez, Academic Advisor, Lawrence

Maria grew up in Lawrence, Massachusetts.  She graduated with a BA in International Relations from Utica College and earned her MA in Intercultural Relations from Lesley University.  Maria worked with various international development nonprofit organizations prior to entering the field of higher education where she worked for many years as an International Student & Scholar Advisor.  Maria currently serves as an Academic Advisor on the Lawrence Campus.  Maria has traveled extensively throughout Europe and Africa and is multilingual.  She is currently working on her Arabic.

LC129 978-655-5915 mhernandez@necc.mass.edu
PACE Staff
Name Location Phone Email
Karen Mitchell, Director CPAC-05 978-556-3404 kmitchell@necc.mass.edu
Kristen Arnold, Transfer Advisor CPAC-03 978-556-3418 karnold@necc.mass.edu
Ann Coughlin, Learning Assistant C201 978-556-3550 acoughlin@necc.mass.edu
Nancy Pelletier, Statistician I CPAC-04 978-556-3403 npelletier@necc.mass.edu
Academic Placement & Testing Center Staff
Name Location Phone Email
Donna Bertolino, Assistant Dean of Academic Support Services TC-125 978-556-3431 dbertolino@necc.mass.edu
Donna Felisberto, Coordinator, Academic Placement & Testing, Credit
for Life Learning & HSE Chief Examiner
TC-128 978-556-3410 dfelisberto@necc.mass.edu
Susan Alestock, Technical Assistant III TC-128 978-556-3778 salestock@necc.mass.edu
Helen Burns-Vasques,PT Technical Assistant II CPAC-01 978-556- hburnvasques@necc.mass.edu
Nancy Carroll, Clerk III & HSE Examiner CPAC-01 978-556-3458 ncarroll@necc.mass.edu
Peggy Lambert, PT Technical Assistant II TC-128 978-556-3872 mlambert@necc.mass.edu
Laura Roche, PT Assessment Specialist TC-128 978-556-3872 lroche@necc.mass.edu
Lorna Walsh, PT Systems Analyst TC-128 978-556-3776 lwalsh@necc.mass.edu
Denise Torrey, PT Clerk II TC-128 978-556-3448 dtorrey@necc.mass.edu
Louise Michaud, Assessment Officer, Lawrence L-103 978-738-7426 lmichaud@necc.mass.edu
Debra Scannell, PT Technical Assistant III, Lawrence L-103 978-738-7426 dscannell@necc.mass.edu
Betania Villa, PT Technical Assistant II, Lawrence L-135 978-738-7426 bvilla@necc.mass.edu