Home » Academics » Experiential Learning Opportunities » Student Senate

Student Senate

Student Senators

Members of the Student Senate in the Dr. Ibrahim El-Hefni Allied Health & Technology Center

Make a Difference

Get involved with the Student Senate!

  • Develop leadership skills
  • Gain communication skills
  • Build a network
  • Represent your fellow students
  • Serve on college-wide committees
  • Have fun
  • Make a difference

Connect with Us on Social Media

Join the conversation on Facebook and Twitter.

Mission Statement

The mission of the NECC Student Senate is to promote the interests of the students, improve student participation in decision making, and encourage the integration between students, faculty, staff and campus organizations while uniting both campuses in the creation of positive change.

There are 25 seats on the Senate:

5 seats represent the five largest clubs
5 seats are filled with students from the Student Leadership Development Program
15 seats represent academic programs and are elected by the student body

The Senate meets Wednesdays 3-5pm in L244 & A112 via video-conference.  The goal of the Senate is to seek out and address the concerns of the student body on both campuses. Traditionally, the senate fundraises for two leadership scholarships and a nonprofit organization.

Meet the Senators

  • Donna Passemato, President
  • Wandy Polo, Vice President of Lawrence
  • Chad Gorham, Vice President of Haverhill
  • Kristin Curry, Secretary
  • Maryann O’Connell, Treasurer
  • Jessica Angelini, Parliamentarian
  • Samuel Beverage, Programming Chair of Haverhill
  • Kevin Carvalho, Programming Chair of Lawrence
  • Jasmine Polanco, Marketing Chair
  • Crystal Pringle, Senator
  • Noah Gaudreau, Senator
  • Kimberly Daigle, Senator
  • David Mesta, Senator
  • Elfie Grusing, Senator

Get Involved

Interested in getting involved?  Running for a position is easy and petitions for Spring 2015 will be available soon!  Download the petition at the bottom of the page or pick one up in the Student Engagement Center. Complete the nomination petition by obtaining 20 signatures from current students within your program area.

Petitions will be available online or at the Student Engagement Center soon for Spring 2015. Return your completed petition no later than noon on February 5th for consideration.

Are you interested in learning more about the Student Senate? All Senate meetings are open to the public so join us in L244 & A112 Wednesdays 3-5pm or contact the Student Engagement Center.

For more information, contact the:
Student Engagement Center

Haverhill Campus

Lawrence Campus