This site is best viewed in Firefox, Chrome, Safari, or EdgeX

What Is Academic Coaching?

Academic coaching is a personalized, one-on-one meeting with a trained academic coach who can help you improve your skills and performance. Working with an academic coach can help you study smarter by developing skills in time management, goal setting, and test preparation.

How Will Academic Coaching Help Me?

Academic coaching will help you become a more effective learner, not simply to survive the crisis of the day. Using current class assignments as a springboard, we will work with you to help you develop the habits that allow you to succeed in current courses and beyond, across all subjects, throughout your academic career, in the workplace and your life.

  • Time Management
  • Organizational Skills
  • Effective Study Skills
  • Note Taking
  • Goal Setting
  • Test Anxiety and more…

Academic Coaching Schedule

Updated Contact Information for Scheduling Coaching

NECC Academic Coaching Services will not be scheduling face to face appointments until further notice. Coaches will only be available remotely by phone, email, or text.

Students who already work with a coach and wish to book an appointment should:
Email their coach

Pam Belmonte: pbelmonte@necc.mass.edu

Lorena Holguin: lholguin@necc.mass.edu

Marion Howley: mhowley@necc.mass.edu

Jennifer Jones: jjones@necc.mass.edu

Amy Joyall: ajoyall@necc.mass.edu

Laurie Sorota: lsorota@necc.mass.edu

Denise Trinidad: dtrinidad@necc.mass.edu

Or call

978-556-3847 and leave a message including your name, the coach you are trying to reach and the best way to contact you. Someone will reply as soon as possible.

If a student has not visited Academic Coaching in the past:

Please have them e-mail academiccoaching@necc.mass.edu. E-mails will be triaged and one of the coaches will get back to the student.

Available Academic Coaching Remote Services*
  • Support Services
  • Study Skills
  • Note Taking Skills
  • Test taking Skills
  • Online Course Success Strategies
  • Time Management
  • Assignment Completion Schedules
  • Goal Setting
  • Soft skills
  • Understanding assignments
  • Breaking down assignments
  • Brainstorming for assigned papers and projects
  • Connecting to other resources
  • Provide links to online NECC academic and student resources
  • Provide links to outside academic resources
  • Provide reminders of upcoming important academic dates
  • Motivation and encouragement

The Academic Coaching Schedule may change each semester.

Request Academic Coaching

Academic Coaching Intake Form

Academic Coaching Intake Form

Fill out my online form.
Print viewPrint View
Get Map and Diretions on Google