Menu button
Home » Faculty & Staff, Mobile

Trustees Recommend New President

Submitted by on January 15, 2011 – 12:00 pm

Dr. Lane Glenn, current vice president of academic affairs

At a special meeting held on Wednesday, December 22, the Northern Essex Community College Board of Trustees voted unanimously to recommend that the Massachusetts Board of Higher Education appoint Dr. Lane Glenn as the new president of the college, replacing David Hartleb, who will retire this coming June.

Dr. Glenn currently serves as vice president of academic affairs at NECC, a position which he has held since 2006. Prior to that, he was dean of academic and student services at Oakland Community College in Michigan. He has also served as director of learning services at Lansing Community College, also in Michigan. Glenn holds a Ph.D. in theater from Michigan State University.

“I’m thrilled with the choice,” said Joseph Edwards, chairperson of the college’s board of trustees. “Dr. Glenn has the ability and the enthusiasm to make an excellent president and he has insight into what’s happening at the college.”

Dr. Glenn was selected after a national search which began last summer, shortly after President Hartleb announced his retirement. A presidential search committee, including 19 voting members and two nonvoting members, was appointed to develop a pool of candidates and recommend finalists to the college’s board of trustees.

In early December, three finalists were announced and each was invited to the college for two days of interviews with faculty, staff, students, trustees, alumni, and members of the community, who were all asked to provide feedback on said Richard M. Freeland, Massachusetts commissioner of higher education. “I look forward to meeting Vice President Glenn to discuss his nomination. The Massachusetts Board of Higher Education will take its vote on February 1.”

If approved by the board of higher education, Dr. Glenn will become the fourth president of the college, which opened its doors in 1961. Harold Bentley served from 1960 to 1975, John Dimitry from 1975 to 1996, and David Hartleb will have served from 1996 to 2011.