Menu button
Home » Mobile, Students & Alumni

NECC Students Honored at State House

Submitted by on May 11, 2011 – 2:10 pm

Sharon Black and Jessica Dick

Two Northern Essex Community College students, Sharon Black of Methuen, and Jessica Dick of Haverhill, were recently honored for their academic achievements at a ceremony at the Massachusetts State House.

The two were part of a group of 17 students from across the state selected for Phi Theta Kappa’s All Academic Team, based on their academic record and recommendations from their professors. Phi Theta Kappa is an international honor society for community college students.

Black, a Melrose High School graduate and mother of three, is a paralegal major at NECC. In her two years at NECC she has been involved in Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, Emerging Student Leaders Program, and the Presidential Student Ambassador Program. She is also a member of the Student Senate, a legal research and writing teaching assistant and tutor, and a member of the Paralegal Club. After graduating this spring Black will transfer to the American College of History and Legal Studies in Salem, NH. She plans to one day be a disability lawyer.

Dick, a 2009 graduate of Central Catholic, will graduate from Northern Essex this spring as a Liberal Arts major. In her two years at NECC she has been involved in the Honors Program, as the Honors Ambassador, a member of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, and in the Student Leadership Development Program. After graduating, Dick, will transfer to the UMass Boston as an English major. She plans to be a high school English teacher.

Seventeen community college award recipients, families, community college presidents, and Phi Theta Kappa college staff were in attendance at the award ceremony. Attendees were greeted by William D. Hart, executive director, Massachusetts Community Colleges Executive Office, Dr. Richard Freeland, commissioner, Department of Higher Education, and State Representative Thomas J. Calter, Massachusetts. After the presentation of the awards and medallions, by Representative Calter and William Hart, Dr. Dana Mohler-Faria, president of Bridgewater State College, addressed the crowd.

Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society, community college presidents, and community college state associations co-sponsor All State Academic Team recognition program in 38 states. Each community college has the opportunity to nominate two students for this competition. Nominees to the All-USA/All-State Academic Teams are eligible for stipends provided by Coca-Cola.