Menu button
Home » Headline, Students & Alumni

Local Residents Named Presidential Scholars at NECC

Submitted by on August 12, 2011 – 1:42 pm
Presidential Scholarship Group

Pictured from left to right: Benjamin Isaacman, Tor Johannessen, Ashley Lambert, Nicholas Cashman, Clayton Richards, Oscar Carranza, Lane Glenn – NECC president, Nina Berube, William Shaffer, Luis Urynowicz, Robert Shaffer, Katherine Pazzanese

Fifteen local 2011 high school graduates have been accepted to the Presidential Scholars Program at Northern Essex Community College.

In its 12th year, the Presidential Scholars Program is designed to attract motivated high school students to Northern Essex. Students are selected based on their high school academic record and recommendations from high school guidance counselors and teachers.

“Our Presidential Scholars Program targets academically motivated high school graduates who have decided to start their college education at Northern Essex,” said Lane Glenn, president of Northern Essex. “Most plan to transfer to a four-year college or university after getting an associate’s degree from Northern Essex.”

This year’s Presidential Scholars include:


Tor Johannessen, Amesbury High School, General Studies


Nicholas Cashman, Georgetown High School, General Studies: Music Option


Benjamin Isaacman, Whittier Regional Vocational Technical High School, Accounting
Katherine Pazzanese, Haverhill High School, Illustration


Heather Barrows, Greater Lawrence Technical High School, General Studies: Dental Assisting
Nina Berube, Whittier Regional Vocational Technical High School, General Studies: Radiologic Technology
Oscar Carranza, Lawrence High School, Business Management
Thalia DeLaCruz, Greater Lawrence Technical High School, Liberal Arts
Lizmarie Peralta, Lawrence High School, General Studies: Nursing
Alina Santos, Greater Lawrence Technical High School, Liberal Arts


Robert Shaffer, Pentucket Regional High School, Liberal Arts: Computer & Information Sciences
William Shaffer, Pentucket Regional High School, Liberal Arts: Computer & Information Sciences


Ashley Lambert, Methuen High School, Practical Nursing
Luis Urynowicz, Methuen High School, Business Management


Clayton Richards, Triton Regional High School, General Studies: Multi Media Option

In addition to the honor of being named to this selective program, students receive a $1,000 scholarship from the college. Presidential Scholars are also paired with an administrator from the college who serves as a mentor and are encouraged to participate in a variety of enrichment programs offered at Northern Essex, including the Student Leadership Development Program, the Student Ambassador Program, and the college’s Honors Experience.

To be eligible, students must have a minimum 2.5 grade point average in high school and be nominated by a high school guidance counselor, teacher, or principal. Each must plan to earn an associate’s degree at Northern Essex before transferring to a four-year Massachusetts state college or university.

For more information on the NECC Presidential Scholars Program, contact the Office of the Senior Vice President of Enrollment Management, 978 738-7497 or