Menu button
Home » Mobile, Students & Alumni

Beta Omicron Students Recognized at Annual Ceremony

Submitted by on May 17, 2016 – 7:40 pm
Professor Pam Donahue, faculty advisory to theNorthern Essex Community College Beta Omicron chapter

Professor Pam Donahue, faculty advisory to the Northern Essex Community College Beta Omicron chapter

Eight students of Northern Essex Community College’s Beta Omicron chapter of the Alpha Beta Gamma International Business society were honored with prestigious awards at the organizations 29th annual induction ceremony held last month. The awards, many of which were recognized at the national meeting of Alpha Beta Gamma, highlight outstanding achievement.

Christine Ogilvie of Newburyport received the Professor Steven Graham Memorial Award, which recognizes significant chapter contributions. Ogilvie represented Beta Omicron at Alpha Beta Gamma’s National Meeting.

Former chapter president Pat Ketabchi, also of Newburyport, won the Hausman Siegel Distinguished Award for outstanding chapter leaders. Ketabchi has been praised for her devotion to ABG activities, including her previous year’s attendance at the national meeting.

Kathleen Blum of Methuen earned the Keith Ulich Memorial Essay Award for her piece “Living Life to Its Fullest.” Other essay prizes were given to Adam Bergstrom of Plaistow, New Hampshire, who reported on the pros and cons of being an entrepreneur and to alumnus Bruce Loring of Brentwood, New Hampshire, who wrote a piece about U.S. investment banks.

The Zagara Competitors’ Award, presented to an outstanding athlete with high academic credentials, was distributed to Johnathan Paulino of Lawrence. Paulino is a member of NECC’s men’s basketball team.

Receiving Beta Omicron-specific awards were Carlos Gabriel of Haverhill and outgoing president Stephanie Quezada of Lawrence. Both were awarded the Muller and Norton Outstanding Leadership Award for their exemplary leadership qualities and ongoing dedication to ABG.

The Beta Omicron chapter itself was recognized with two awards during the ABG’s national meeting – the Professor Donald Bertram Community Service Award for excellence in community service initiatives and the Brooks College Golden Key for outstanding chapter campus services, recruitment, community services, and financial management. This year marks the sixth time that Beta Omicron has won the latter award.

Alpha Beta Gamma is an international honor society that recognizes and encourages scholarship among students of two-year business and professional colleges. Members of NECC’s local chapter must maintain a cumulative 3.0 minimum grade point average and exude strong moral and academic character.

Northern Essex offers the following business programs:  Accounting, Business Management, Business Management: Computer Applications, Business Management: Hospitality, Business Transfer, and Business Management: Health Care Practice.

This year’s Beta Omicron induction ceremony welcomed fifty initiates including:





Amara Nguyen

Adelia Purdy



Tyler Favaloro



Amanda Shepard



Cherye Hoff



Heather Blais

Marlain DeJesús

Victoria Alexis Gonzalez

Leslie Jimenez

Jessica Lucas

Marilyn Santiago



Randall Correa

Alba Diaz

Annabell Ellington

Victor Estrada

Laxmi Fernandez

Matthew Giovannetti

Melanie Gonzalez

Jesse Liriano

Karla Marte

Cindy Martinez -Garcia

Elizabeth Travassos

Douglas Uhl


Carolyn Otis


Sopheak Oeung


Nicholas Candage

Dianne Pratt

John Williamson


Karina Calderon

Mary Houlihan

Zion Ko

Tara Torrisi

Ashley Ventrillo


Adam Murray

Catherine Ryan

Alexander Salah


Winfield Field


Jared Shepard




Brandon Foster


Justin Sandburg


Karla Cadena


Holly Alix


Connor Whitford


Nicole Alexandrou

Olivia Barberian

Brandon Lacroix

Branden Newman

Blair Robertson