Menu button
Home » Mobile, Students & Alumni

Local Students Named NECC Presidential Scholars

Submitted by on September 11, 2018 – 6:15 pm

The 2018 Northern Essex Community College Presidential Scholars with NECC President Lane Glenn (center) are from (left to right) Jessica Marchand, Emily Petrillo, Mackenzie George, Sophia Fedele, Shannon Duffy, and Yezebel Fermin.

Nine local 2018 high school graduates were accepted into Northern Essex Community College’s Presidential Scholars Program, an honors program devoted to high academic achievement.

In its 19th year, the Presidential Scholars Program is designed to reward motivated high school students who will be attending Northern Essex. Students are selected based on their high school academic record and recommendations from high school guidance counselors and teachers.

“Our Presidential Scholars Program targets academically motivated high school graduates who have decided to start their college education at Northern Essex,” said Lane Glenn, president of Northern Essex. “Most plan to transfer to a four-year college or university after getting an associate’s degree from Northern Essex.”

Admission to the program includes a $1,000 scholarship (over two semesters,) which is renewable provided the recipient maintain a GPA of 2.5 or higher while attending NECC.

This year’s Presidential Scholars include the following (by hometown):


Emily Petrillo, Whittier Regional Vocational Technical High School, General Studies: Health Specialization


Yesebel Fermin, Greater Lawrence Regional Technical School, General Studies: Health Specialization

Erika Arias, Greater Lawrence Regional Technical School, Enrolling in the Spring


Mackenzie George, Whittier Regional Vocational Technical High School, Early Childhood Education

Jessica Marchand, Methuen High School, Business Manager

Rajab Wasan, Methuen High School, Liberal Arts

Amine Ekinci, Greater Lawrence Regional Technical High Schools, Hospitality Management

North Andover:

Sofia Fedele, North Andover High School, General Studies: Individualized Option

Sandown, NH:

Shannon Duffy, Timberlane Regional High School, Criminal Justice

For more information on the NECC Presidential Scholars Program, please contact Lindsay Graham at or at 978-556-3629.