Menu button
Home » Mobile, Students & Alumni

Beta Omicron Members Honored at Annual Ceremony

Submitted by on May 13, 2015 – 6:22 pm
Professor Pam Donahue, faculty advisory to theNorthern Essex Community College Beta Omicron chapter

Professor Pam Donahue, faculty advisor to the Northern Essex Community College Beta Omicron chapter.

Four members of the Northern Essex Community College Beta Omicron chapter of the Alpha Beta Gamma international business honor society were recently honored with selective awards at the chapter’s 28th annual induction ceremony on April 22nd. The awards, distributed during the national meeting of Alpha Beta Gamma, recognized outstanding achievement.

Alumnus Bruce Loring of Brentwood, New Hampshire received the Marc Napolitano Outstanding Essay Award for his thematic piece “The Use of Film and the Media to Foster Corporate Growth.” Loring’s essay was selected from a large pool of submissions as the best in its category. A second essay prize, the Ester J. Cross-Carter Award, was granted to student Adamaris Correa of Haverhill for her essay “Helping Others.”

Outgoing president Patricia Ketabchi of Newburyport earned the Professor Steven Graham Memorial Award, for which she was nominated through faculty recommendation, as well as the Beta Omicron chapter’s Muller & Norton Outstanding Leadership Award for exemplary involvement. Ketabchi has been praised for her consistent devotion to ABG activities, including attendance at the national meeting.

Also honored this year was Jennifer Mercier of Amesbury who received the Eva Bobrow Medallion for significant involvement in and impact on the Beta Omicron Chapter of Alpha Beta Gamma.

The chapter itself was distinguished with two national honors – the Excellence in Financial Management Award and the Donald Bertram Community Service Award. Both mark a significant milestone for NECC’s Beta Omicron chapter, which has over the years won more than 65 national honors. “This is an historic accomplishment for the Northern Essex [chapter] members,” says Pamela Donahue, Beta Omicron faculty advisor. “There are not many other organizations that have met this milestone.”

Alpha Beta Gamma is an international honor society established by business professors in 1970 to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year business and professional college students. The society is a member of The Association of College Honor Societies and has initiated 65,500 members.

Members in the local chapter must maintain a 3.0 cumulative grade point average and display qualities of good citizenship and strong moral and academiccharacter. This year’s induction ceremony welcomed 51 new members.

For more information about Beta Omicron, please contact Professor Pam Donahue at 978-556-3315 or at


Full List of 2015 Inductees