This site is best viewed in Firefox, Chrome, Safari, or EdgeX

Studying Accounting at NECC Can Get You Where You Want to Go!


From simple bookkeeping to complex financial assessments, accounting professionals know how to help businesses track and report their finances. Consistently ranked among the top 10 jobs by Boston Works, accounting may be ideal for you if you are detailed-oriented, have good communication skills and a strong work ethic.

Why Choose NECC?

NECC’s Associate in Science Degree in Accounting will prepare you for many career opportunities in business, industry, banking, government, or non-profit organizations. Many students choose to transfer to earn a Bachelor’s Degree in Accounting or a business field, and some also work and earn a bachelor’s degree at the same time, as there are many opportunities for part-time book-keeping and auditing. With this program you will:

  • Learn accounting theory and practice, cost methods, and financial reporting
  • Take core business courses
  • Gain real-world experience through internships at local companies
  • Participate in Alpha Beta Gamma, an international business honor society

Because of NECC

You will join thousands of other NECC alumni who have gone on to successful careers in the field of accounting. After completing the program you can:

  • Begin working immediately as a bookkeeper, accounting, or auditing clerk
  • Transfer to a four-year college or university to earn a bachelor’s degree, while saving thousands of dollars on your educationWork in a wide variety of industries and business settings from large corporations to start ups; you may also be
  • Work in a wide variety of industries and business settings from large corporations to start ups; you may also be able work from home with occasional visits to the office or clients

Nearly 2 Million

The Bureau of Labor Statistics
estimated that there were
1,760,300 jobs in the field
in 2014.

Quote:

My internship was at Bradford & Bigelow, Inc. and I was hired for a full-time position a month after I completed my internship.”

Fausto Caba, NECC Accounting major


 

Courses, Requirements, and Program Notes

 

Career Paths & Job Market

Job Opportunities

Job Opportunities

See the Department of Labor Statistics for more information on Accounting and Bookkeeping opportunities.

External Online Resources

External Online Resources

boston.com
Accounting is consistently among the top jobs listed.

Mass CPA Careers
Career page on the Massachusetts CPA website.

Contact

Department Chair

Department Chair

Kristen Quinn, BA, MSA, Faculty, Chair

Phone: 978-556-3351
Email: kquinn@necc.mass.edu

Faculty Contact Information

Faculty Contact Information

Pamela Donahue, AS, BS, Med, Faculty

Office: C304G
Phone: 978-556-3315
Email: pdonahue@necc.mass.edu

Kristen Quinn, BA, MSA, Faculty, Chair

Office: C-304 E
Phone: 978-556-3351
Email: kquinn@necc.mass.edu

Adjunct Faculty Contact Information

Adjunct Faculty Contact Information

John Sabbagh, BA, MEd, CAES

Email: jsabbagh@necc.mass.edu

Mark Cousins, BS, CPA,

Email: mcousins@necc.mass.edu

Lori Capra, BS, MSA

Email: lcapra@necc.mass.edu

Cheryl Dick, BS, MSA

Email: cdick@necc.mass.edu

Armen Derderian, BS, CPA

Email: aderderian@necc.mass.edu

Roland Masse

Email: rmasse@necc.mass.edu

Sheila Muller, AS, BS, MBA

Email: smuller@necc.mass.edu


Get Map and Diretions on Google