This site is best viewed in Firefox, Chrome, Safari, or EdgeX

Welcome to the Center for Liberal Arts

The Center is your social and academic home for the liberal arts during your time at Northern Essex Community College. We’re located on the second floor of the Spurk Building in Room C209 so please stop by and say hello and take advantage of our many offerings. We have several computers and a printer you can use to work on your assignments, and you can also use the Center as a quiet place to study or work on class projects.

The Center is also a great place to meet with faculty, participate in debates and study groups, and celebrate the rich academic disciplines that make up the Liberal Arts. We host several events throughout the year we hope you’ll attend and please check our event listings as we update them frequently.

The Center is open Monday-Friday 9am-4pm.


Center for Liberal Arts Staff

Maxie Holman Stocks, Professional Academic Advisor, mholman@necc.mass.edu, 978-556-3404

Sarah Regan-Kelley, Center Coordinator, sregankelley@necc.mass.edu

Kim Lyng, Ed.D., Faculty Lead for the Center for Liberal Arts, klyng@necc.mass.edu

 

Center Location: C-209 Spurk Building, Haverhill Campus

Center phone: 978-556-3140

 

Liberal Arts students who are taking classes in Lawrence can make an appointment with an advisor or drop in at the Dimitry Academic Center in the Dimitry Building, room L200. It is open Monday and Wednesday, 9:00am-5:00pm; Tuesday and Thursday, 9:00am-3:00pm. Closed Friday. For more information about the Dimitry Academic Center, contact Director Janice Rogers at j1rogers@necc.mass.edu.


Registering for Courses

  • Connect with your faculty advisor to register and learn more about what classes are being offered. You can find out who your faculty advisor is by logging onto myNECC and clicking on Degree Works or Navigate.
  • Academic Advisor Maxie Holman can also help you register for classes or answer any questions you have about courses in the Liberal Arts. Maxie can be reached at mholman@necc.mass.edu or you can set up an appointment with her through Navigate here.
  • Click here for more information about 2023 courses and how you can register.
  • You can also contact the Center at centerforliberalarts@necc.mass.edu for more details.

 

Students participating in courses must be fully vaccinated against COVID-19 absent an approved reasonable accommodation. Students, submit your proof of COVID-19 vaccination using the COVID-19 Vaccination Reporting Form.

For more information, visit COVID-19 Vaccination Frequently Asked Questions or email immunizations@necc.mass.edu.


The Division of Liberal Arts is Home to the following Associate Degree programs:

Liberal Arts
Liberal Arts: Psychology 
Liberal Arts: Philosophy 
Liberal Arts: Journalism/Communications
Liberal Arts: Writing 
General Studies: Art & Design
General Studies: Music

The Liberal Arts disciplines cultivate academic skills and habits of mind that prepare you to be engaged, knowledgeable, and adaptable citizens in the contemporary world.

Make sure to check out our upcoming and archived events.


The Division of Liberal Arts is Home to the Following Academic Departments:

Art & Design

Behavioral Sciences

Global Studies

English

Performing Arts & Communication

Academic ESL


Division of Liberal Arts

Amy Callahan, Dean

acallahan@necc.mass.edu

Tammy Foster, Administrative Assistant

tfoster@necc.mass.edu

Kristi Arford, Chair Behavioral Sciences Dept.

karford@necc.mass.edu

Brianne Beatrice, Coordinator of Liberal Arts: Theater Option

bbeatrice@necc.mass.edu

Alisa Bucchiere, Interim Chair, Music Dept.

abucchiere@necc.mass.edu

Amy Cameron, Chair & Coordinator Academic ESL

acameron@necc.mass.edu

Michelle Carter, Chair, Art & Design Dept., Coordinator General Studies: Art & Design

mcarter@necc.mass.edu

Eldiane Elmeus, Coordinator of First Year Seminar

eelmeus@necc.mass.edu

Tom Greene, Ph.D., Chair, English Dept. and Coordinator of Liberal Arts: Writing Option

tgreene@necc.mass.edu

Meredith Gunning, Ph.D., Dept. Chair, Global Studies and Coordinator of Liberal Arts: Philosophy Option

mgunning@necc.mass.edu

Kim Lyng, Ed.D., Coordinator of Liberal Arts Program

klyng@necc.mass.edu

Patricia Schade & Clare Thompson-Ostrander, Co-chairs, Department of Academic Preparation

pschade@necc.mass.edu & cthompson@necc.mass.edu

Mary Jo Shafer, Coordinator Liberal Arts: Journalism/Communications

mshafer@necc.mass.edu

Krista Titone, Ph.D., Coordinator of Liberal Arts: Psychology Option

ktitone@necc.mass.edu


Make an Appointment with Us

You can easily make an appointment with staff of the Center for Liberal Arts to be advised and registered for class, or to discuss your studies. This short (really short) video will show you how. Click the Navigate link here if you already know how.

View video on the NECC YouTube Channel.

 

Connect With Us!

Twitter - Center for Liberal ArtsConnect with us on Twitter

 

 

graphic of instagram logo Connect with us on Instagram

Print viewPrint View
Get Maps and Diretions