This site is best viewed in Firefox, Chrome, Safari, or EdgeX

Welcome to the Center for Liberal Arts

The Center is your social and academic home for the liberal arts during your time at Northern Essex Community College. We’re located on the second floor of the Spurk Building in Room C209 so please stop by and say hello and take advantage of our many offerings. We have several computers and a printer you can use to work on your assignments and you can also use the Center as a quiet place to study or work on class projects. You can also register for courses or learn about the many academic pathways in the liberal arts.

The Center is also a great place to meet with faculty, participate in debates and study groups, and celebrate the rich academic disciplines that make up the liberal arts. We host several events throughout the year we hope you’ll attend and please check our event listings as we update them frequently.

Registration is Open for Summer and Fall 2022 Courses!

Academic Advisor Shakira Andino can help you register for classes or answer any questions you have about courses in the Liberal Arts. Shakira’s hours in the Center for Liberal Arts are listed below as is a Navigate link for setting up an appointment with her.

Click here for more information about summer and fall courses and how you can register.

As you plan and register for your classes, please be aware of the college’s Covid-19 vaccination requirements.

Students participating in the the Summer and Fall 2022 semesters must be fully vaccinated against COVID-19 absent an approved reasonable accommodation. The deadline to submit an accommodation request for Summer is April 25th, and the Fall is August 5th. Students, submit your proof of COVID-19 vaccination using the COVID-19 Vaccination Reporting Form.

For more information, visit COVID-19 Vaccination Frequently Asked Questions or email immunizations@necc.mass.edu.

COVID Questions

This fall, NECC’s COVID-19 Contact Tracing Manager Rosanna Lara answered many questions about COVID-19 and vaccinations.

View video on the NECC YouTube Channel.

Los consejos de Rosanna también están disponibles en español:

View video on the NECC YouTube Channel.

Center for Liberal Arts Staff

Shakira Andino, M.Ed., Professional Academic Advisor, sandino@necc.mass.edu

Yo hablo Español

Make an Appointment with Shakira Andino on Navigate

Shakira is available on the Haverhill campus on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Thursdays from 9 a.m.-2 p.m., and Fridays remotely. She is on the Lawrence Campus on Wednesday.
Center phone: 978-556-3140
Center Location: C209 Spurk Building, Haverhill Campus

Kim Lyng, Ed.D., Faculty Lead for the Center for Liberal Arts, klyng@necc.mass.edu

Liberal Arts students as well as students who are taking English as a Second Language (ESL) classes in Lawrence can make an appointment with an advisor or drop in at the Dimitry Academic Center in the Dimitry Building, room L200. It is open Monday and Wednesday, 9:00am-5:00pm; Tuesday and Thursday, 9:00am-3:00pm. Closed Friday.

The Division of Liberal Arts is the home to the following academic programs:

  • Liberal Arts
  • Liberal Arts: Psychology Option
  • Liberal Arts: Philosophy Option
  • Liberal Arts: Journalism/Communications
  • Liberal Arts: Writing Option
  • General Studies: Art & Design
  • General Studies: Music
  • English as a Second Language
  • Academic Preparation

In addition to each of these programs, the faculty of the Liberal Arts division teach general education classes to all students that provide the basis of the core curriculum of all Associates degrees, and transfer to four-year colleges. The Liberal Arts cultivate academic skills and habits of mind that prepare you to be engaged, knowledgeable, and adaptable citizens in the contemporary world.

Make sure to check out our upcoming and archived events.

Advising and Registration Information

Faculty Advisor

If you have a faculty advisor, they should contact you to register for the upcoming semester by the time registration begins. They will help you to create an academic plan in Navigate so that you can anticipate how long it will take you to achieve your Associates degree. Feel free to contact your advisor by email during the semester.

Register Yourself

If you are a returning student and you know your program requirements, then you may be able to register yourself. Find out how here:

View video on the NECC YouTube Channel.

Contact the Center Advisor

The professional advisor assigned to the Center for Liberal Arts is Shakira Andino. You can contact her at sandino@necc.mass.edu anytime. She will likely send you a message midway through the semester so that you can make your academic plan and arrange your registration, be advised about transferring, or prepare for graduation. Make sure to check your NECC email.

Division of Liberal Arts

Amy Callahan, Dean

acallahan@necc.mass.edu

Tammy Foster, Administrative Assistant

tfoster@necc.mass.edu

Kristi Arford, Chair Behavioral Sciences Dept.

karford@necc.mass.edu

Brianne Beatrice, Coordinator of Liberal Arts: Theater Option

bbeatrice@necc.mass.edu

Alisa Bucchiere, Interim Chair, Music Dept.

abucchiere@necc.mass.edu

Amy Cameron, Chair & Coordinator Academic ESL

acameron@necc.mass.edu

Michelle Carter, Chair, Art & Design Dept., Coordinator General Studies: Art & Design

mcarter@necc.mass.edu

Eldiane Elmeus, Coordinator of First Year Seminar

eelmeus@necc.mass.edu

Meredith Gunning, Ph.D., Dept. Chair, Global Studies, Coordinator of Liberal Arts: Philosophy Option

mgunning@necc.mass.edu

Kim Lyng, Ed.D., Coordinator of Liberal Arts Program

klyng@necc.mass.edu

Patricia Portanova, Ph.D.,  Coordinator of Liberal Arts: Writing Option

pportanova@necc.mass.edu

Patricia Schade & Clare Thompson-Ostrander, Co-chairs, Department of Academic Preparation

pschade@necc.mass.edu & cthompson@necc.mass.edu

Mary Jo Shafer, Coordinator Liberal Arts: Journalism/Communications

mshafer@necc.mass.edu

Krista Titone, Ph.D., Coordinator of Liberal Arts: Psychology Option

ktitone@necc.mass.edu

Ellen Yarborough, Ph.D., Chair, English Dept.

eyarborough@necc.mass.edu

 

Make an Appointment with Us

You can easily make an appointment with staff of the Center for Liberal Arts to be advised and registered for class, or to discuss your studies. This short (really short) video will show you how. Click the Navigate link here if you already know how.

View video on the NECC YouTube Channel.

 

Connect With Us!

Twitter - Center for Liberal ArtsConnect with us on Twitter

 

 

graphic of instagram logo Connect with us on Instagram

Print viewPrint View
Get Maps and Diretions