This site is best viewed in Firefox, Chrome, Safari, or EdgeX

The Center for Professional Studies is a place where students can come to relax, connect with professors and engage in study groups. Students in criminal justice, human services, American sign language studies, early childhood education and educational studies as well as exploratory students are all able to access the center. It is your social and academic home while you are a student at Northern Essex Community College. It is where you will meet other students and provide support to each other. It is a welcoming environment to connect directly with faculty. The Center is where you will decide on your academic pathway, register for courses, and find advice and support.

The Center For Professional Studies is home to the following academic programs:

  • Criminal Justice
  • Educational Studies
  • Human Services
  • Early Childhood Education
  • American Sign Language Studies

Important Advising and Registration Information

Faculty Advisor

If you have a faculty advisor, they should contact you to register for the upcoming semester by the time registration begins. They will help you to create an academic plan in Navigate so that you can anticipate how long it will take you to achieve your Associates degree. Feel free to contact your advisor by email during the semester.

If you do not have an advisor, please reach out directly to the coordinator of your program. If you are unable to reach the coordinator, please reach out to the Center Lead Deirdre Budzyna.

Register Yourself

If you are a returning student and you know your program requirements, then you may be able to register yourself. Find out how here:

View video on the NECC YouTube Channel.

Contact the Center Lead

The Center Lead is Deirdre Budzyna – dbudzyna@necc.mass.edu
Please contact Deirdre with any questions you have about the center.

Staff & Faculty

Division of Professional Studies

Division of Professional Studies

Kelly Sullivan, Dean
ksullivan@necc.mass.edu

Trish Butler, Administrative Assistant
t1butler@necc.mass.edu

Paul Cavan, Coordinator of Criminal Justice Program
pcavan@necc.mass.edu

Scott Joubert, Faculty in Criminal Justice Program
sjoubert@necc.mass.edu

Donna Tanner, Coordinator of Educational Studies Program
dtanner@necc.mass.edu

Brian MacKenna-Rice, Coordinator of Human Services Program
bmackennarice@necc.mass.edu

Jody Carson, Coordinator of Early Childhood Education Program
jcarson@necc.mass.edu

Deirdre Budzyna, Faculty in Early Childhood Education Program
dbudzyna@necc.mass.edu

Kevin Fleese, Coordinator of American Sign Language Studies Program
kfleese@necc.mass.edu

Career Pathways in Early Childhood Education Grant

Career Pathways in Early Childhood Education Grant

Doris Buckley, Director
dbuckley@necc.mass.edu

Sharline DelRosario, Special Programs Coordinator
sdelrosario@necc.mass.edu

Center for Professional Studies Staff

Center for Professional Studies Staff

Kizzy Borbon, Professional Academic Advisor
kborbon@necc.mass.edu

Center email: professionalstudies@necc.mass.edu
Center phone: 978-556-3120
Center Location: C203 Spurk Building, Haverhill Campus

Print viewPrint View
Get Map and Diretions on Google